All Blacks vs Hurricanes and Black Ferns for top award

Publish Date
Monday, 5 December 2016, 5:40AM
Photo / NZ Herald

Photo / NZ Herald

The world record-breaking All Blacks will be vying for the coveted Team of the Year Award at this year's ASB Rugby Awards against the undefeated Black Ferns and first-time Super Rugby champions, the Hurricanes.

The winner will be unveiled at the 2016 ASB Rugby Awards, being held at Auckland's Sky City Convention Centre 15 December.

The annual celebration of rugby will see All Blacks rub shoulders with club volunteers, referees with coaches and men and women players from 15s and 7s all up for awards.

Brothers Beauden and Jordie Barrett have both been nominated for two awards each this year, and rising star Rieko Ioane has been nominated for three awards.

The captains of the World No. 1-ranked Black Ferns (Fiao'o Fa'amausili) and Olympic medal-winning Black Ferns Sevens (Sarah Goss) teams have been nominated for the women's player and women's sevens player of the year awards.

This year's World Rugby Player of the Year Beauden Barrett, World Rugby Player of the Year nominee and Hurricanes Captain Dane Coles and 84-Test veteran Sam Whitelock are all nominated for the Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year Award.

Super Rugby's top points scorer, Beauden Barrett, is also up for Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year along with Hurricanes team mate, and 2016 All Blacks debutant, Ardie Savea and Chiefs versatile play maker Damian McKenzie who ran in 10 tries and notched up 199 points in this year's competition.


2016 ASB Rugby Awards nominations

Kelvin Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Beauden Barrett (Taranaki/Hurricanes)
Dane Coles (Wellington/Hurricanes)
Sam Whitelock (Canterbury/Crusaders)

adidas Team of the Year

All Blacks
Black Ferns

ASB Rugby Coach of the Year
Chris Boyd (Hurricanes)
Steve Hansen (All Blacks)
Steve Jackson (North Harbour)
Scott Robertson (Canterbury)

New Zealand Rugby Women's Player of the Year
Kendra Cocksedge (Canterbury)
Fiao'o Faamausili (Auckland)
Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

 Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Dane Coles (Ngati Porou)
Rieko Ioane (Ngapuhi / Te Whanau a Apanui)
TJ Perenara (Te Arawa)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes)
Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)
Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year
Dan Pryor (Highlanders)
Isaiah Punivai (Christ's College)
Selica Winiata (Black Ferns)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)
Niall Williams (Auckland)
Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Jordie Barrett (Canterbury)
Luke Jacobson (Waikato)
Shaun Stevenson (Waikato)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Mark Andersen (Manawatu)
Gary Donovan (Auckland)
Mike Woollett (Wellington)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Richard Kelly (Taranaki)
Rebecca Mahoney (Wairarapa Bush)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year
James Lash (Buller)
Willie Paia'aua (Horowhenua/Kapiti)
Te Rangatira Waitokia (Wanganui)

Mitre 10 Cup Player of the Year
Jordie Barrett (Canterbury)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Michael Little (North Harbour)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year
Sam Dickson (Canterbury)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)

- NZ Herald

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you