Suede release trailer for new album 'The Blue Hour'

Publish Date
Wednesday, 2 May 2018, 4:49PM

Iconic British band Suede announces their eighth studio album 'The Blue Hour' will be released on 21 September. Produced and mixed by Alan Moulder (Nine Inch Nails, Foals, The Killers) at Assault & Battery Studios, 'The Blue Hour' is the follow up to the band’s critically acclaimed 2016 LP, 'Night Thoughts', which was accompanied by a film directed by Roger Sargent.

'The Blue Hour' is an expansive, ambitious work which, like 'Night Thoughts', was written as a continuous piece, although there are fourteen distinct, thematically linked songs on the record.  The album sees Suede continue to explore new ground sonically and features a choir and spoken word, as well as string arrangements from the band’s Neil Codling and one from Craig Armstrong on "The Invisibles". Craig worked with the band on their 1996 LP 'Coming Up' and on films such as 'Romeo + Juliet' and 'The Bone Collector'. The stirring presence of the iconic City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, who were integral to the recording of the fourteen track LP, is one of the album’s most significant touches.

'The Blue Hour' is the final part of the triptych of albums recorded by the band since they reformed and released 2013’s 'Bloodsports'. The record is also complemented by some of the subject matter of Brett Anderson’s recent memoir Coal Black Mornings.

Talking about the context of the record the band explain: “'The Blue Hour' is the time of day when the light is fading and night is closing in. The songs hint at a narrative but never quite reveal it and never quite explain. But as with any Suede album, it’s always about the songwriting. The band, the passion and the noise: 'The Blue Hour'”.

Pre-order 'The Blue Hour' HERE 

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you